Update: The British Weather Returns!

As someone who prefers colder weather to hot, I never thought ‘d see the day when I would be thankful for cloudy British weather. Still, this reprieve from the sun may not last, so I’m enjoying it while I can!

What have I been reading?

Last week, I managed to finish another two books. The first was Jade City by Fonda Lee, the fantasy book chosen by the Sword & Laser bookclub over on Goodreads. This book far exceeded my expectations and proves there are still plenty of imaginative ideas for Urban Fantasy authors to write about. There were plenty twists and turns, that kept me guessing until the last page. Fonda Lee is definitely an author I’m going to be keeping an eye on and I’ll be picking up the next book in The Green Bone Saga as soon as its released. Jade City is definitely a contender for my book of the year.

The other book I read is Rebel Spring, the second book in the Falling Kingdoms series. This series is turning out to be a solid Young Adult fantasy series, with the second book focusing more on plot, rather than the world building of the first book. It is clear, there is much more going on in the world of Mytica than what is currently shown. I like the fact that Morgan Rhodes seems to be taking her time telling the overarching story, as I feel this will lead to a more rewarding payoff for the reader in the end.

I’m just about to start the final book in The Draconis Memoria trilogy, The Empire of Ashes, by Anthony Ryan. My impressions of the first two books lead me to believe that this will be an epic conclusion to this series, so I can’t wait to dive into this one!

 

What have I been playing?

Screenshot_20180812_154642.png

This last week was definitely more Elder Scrolls focused as I only played Elder Scrolls Online and the card game, Elder Scrolls Legends. In ESO, I’ve been taking the fight to Molag Bal in Coldhabour. This zone has to be one of the most unique and diverse, that I’ve explored in ESO, so far. I think the highlight for me is a quest that allowed me to briefly transform into a monkey.

Screenshot_20180812_093422.png
I’m smaller than my Raz kitty!

As for Elder Scrolls Legends, I’ve just been reacquainting myself with the gameplay after a long hiatus from it. So far, I’m really enjoying creating a lot of different decks, I guess now I just need to see if they actually work!

 

What’s going on with the blog?

Last week, I managed to get back in the swing on posting to this blog. So, in case you missed those posts, here they are:

This week, in keeping with my current Elder Scrolls addiction, there will be Top Five list in which I talk about favourite Daedric princes. I bet you can’t guess which will be number one…

On Friday, I intend to post a video game review which will be posted here and also on the Upon Completion blog as well. If I am able to, I will also do a bonus post for the weekend, but no promises!

And that was my week! How’s the weather where you are? Let me know what you’ve been getting up to in the comments and I’ll talk to you soon!

2 thoughts on “Update: The British Weather Returns!

Leave a comment